internet apps – chill – beer – my opera

  • no work tomorrow
  • drink a beer
  • drink a White Russian
  • chill out
  • enjoy my opera
  • enjoy Debian

Some of the Internet apps are goofy and I never use them. The system still runs like a dream. Just call me Ms. Linux. 😆 Well, just call me.

10 responses to “internet apps – chill – beer – my opera

  1. :up:

  2. As a matter of interest, which would you say is better – IceWeasel or Firefox?

  3. Originally posted by harrytheman:

    As a matter of interest, which would you say is better – IceWeasel or Firefox?

    Absolutely the same. IceWeasel is just Firefox rebranded.In the same vein, there is also IceCat for systems other than Debian.I'd just run Firefox, if you're into that. I kept IceWeasel because it ships with Debian anyway.You can always grab the IceWeasel .deb file and force it to install on any Ubuntu variant, though it's really just whistling into the wind, then you'd have extra work every time there is an update.Sometimes I even grab files from the Ubuntu repositories and force them onto Debian. If all the dependencies are satisfied, they will run fine. The card game suite, PySol, is a good example of something I grab from Ubuntu and force install on Debian because it's not been in the Debian repositories on years now. Pysol (AKA Pysolfc) is a HUGE favorite of mine for card games.

  4. Thanks, Dave. I had read up a little on IceWeasel and IceCat. What I read seemed to suggest that IceCat is no longer in development. Anyway, I'll stick to Firefox but I do prefer Opera. By the way, is it my imagination or does Chromium on Linux work a lot better than Chrome on Windows?

  5. I'll have a White Russian please. They are quite good. Just discovered them again while visiting my daughter in Chicago. Her boyfriend owns a bar and made me one. Hadn't tasted one since….wow….1968! I went away for one semester at NAU. I think it was the first year Flagstaff College was officially named a university. I'm chilling….sort of. My ex is here visiting. No, not me. Our daughter, son in law, and granddaughter. Two rather awkward/funny things happened today.

  6. Originally posted by Harry Scriven:

    is it my imagination or does Chromium on Linux work a lot better than Chrome on Windows?

    I don't know about Windows browsers, but Chromium on Linux is #1 with me now. I like it.Originally posted by PainterWoman:

    I'll have a White Russian please. They are quite good.

    I usually don't like creamy or milky drinks (someone make joke please, lol), but lately I've been enjoying White Russians. I bought some pre-mixed ones, but they are weak on the vodka.BTW, I was just through Flagstaff 3 weeks ago. I love coming into Arizona on I-40 from the east. So nice.

  7. Originally posted by Harry Scriven:

    By the way, is it my imagination or does Chromium on Linux work a lot better than Chrome on Windows?

    No, it isn't your imagination. Chromium (Linux) indeed is more fast and better than Google Chrome on Windows.Start up speed, memory use and rendering is better on Chromium (Linux).So David I see that you are back in action huh.I love Opera and I don't wanna say it but I don't know why Opera is so slow on Linux. Even on Windows Opera is much slower now.The version 8 and 9 were lot better in terms of performance and everything compared to IE and Firefox that time but now they are way behind than a proper install of Chrome and Firefox.

  8. Originally posted by Manpreet:

    I love Opera and I don't wanna say it but I don't know why Opera is so slow on Linux.

    I'm sorry to say anything negative about Opera. I used it for SO many years, and I love myopera, but the Opera desktop browser, at least on Linux, ain't been good for a long time now. It was real hard to let it go. I only use it for syncing bookmarks now.

  9. Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    BTW, I was just through Flagstaff 3 weeks ago. I love coming into Arizona on I-40 from the east. So nice.

    My son got his CDL on those switchbacks. Really tricky in the winter! And a good friend lives in Munds Park. She got stuck in the snow on the interstate for four hours once. Why she went out in the blizzard I'll never know.

  10. Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    I'm sorry to say anything negative about Opera.

    I like to try to use Opera still even though it does seem a lot less responsive than before. For example, I don't bother trying to make blog posts on MyOpera using Opera anymore as it won't upload my photos :confused: Chromium gives me no problems with this.

Leave a Reply

