diaspora social network

Someone made a post about the Diaspora social network a few weeks to a few months ago, and now I can't remember who it was. I would like to have more fun on there, in other words, more contacts.

Please leave a comment here, if you wish, or send a private message.

25 responses to “diaspora social network

  1. It wouldn't let me join last time.

  2. Hey guys. I finally joined Diaspora. 🙂

  3. https://ser.endipito.us/u/aiden_phelpsLikewise. I wonder if Diaspora members from other pods can contact each other? Possibly so.Dumb question, I know.

  4. You can find me on Diaspora here: https://diasp.org/u/0x29aAt least, I think that works.

  5. I part to Diaspora, now !!

  6. Originally posted by JoshuaPhelps:

    It wouldn't let me join last time.

    I had to look around for a public pod that was taking new registrations. Another myopera member mentioned one that was open, and there are others as well.Being quite new, and distributed, some of the pods are grinding along slowly with laboring servers. I've encountered similar on the distributed IM network, Jabber (XMPP). It's nice to have the reliability of IM on MSN or Yahoo, for example, but part of the purpose of this distributed thing is to take operation out of the hands of any one entity.Originally posted by 0x29a:

    It was Lukas in Poland

    Thank you! I saw a post somewhere and could not find it again until now.Originally posted by JoshuaPhelps:

    I wonder if Diaspora members from other pods can contact each other? Possibly so.Dumb question, I know.

    That's about the first thing I wanted to know, so we'll be dumb together. I'll be checking on this over the weekend as I get a few contacts going.—I'm finding things to be fairly quiet where I am on Diaspora, but I don't care. It's new, and it's fun to be in early. I've never cared if people read my stuff anyway. I mainly write to amuse myself, well on myopera, I do clown around some.One of my worries on a distributed network is longevity of the home server. I was already burned by this on Jabber one time. If your home server disappears, there goes your stuff. On Jabber I had to re-authorize years of contacts because of the hosting server being abandoned. I try to look for hosts that have been there awhile, seem serious, and don't have flaky names like "purplekitty".

  7. Originally posted by JoshuaPhelps:

    I wonder if Diaspora members from other pods can contact each other?

    It's looking like it's seamless so far. I'm still messing with it.

  8. :left: :right:what is good about diaspora ?

  9. Originally posted by decodedthought:

    what is good about diaspora ?

    For me, something different to do. Also, I am using my real identity there. I am going to start doing that here, too, after I sanitize my blog a little.

  10. Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    after I sanitize my blog

    Sanitize?!? Dude…!

  11. Originally posted by 0x29a:

    Sanitize?!? Dude…!

    I've already removed about half of it. It took a long time to decide that I want a lot less of my stuff out there, but what is out there, I want it to be known as mine.I've been feeling a little funny lately. :eyes:

  12. And I have yet to get back on the PC and really explore diaspora.I joined for the sake of it. New, fresh, etc. I like.

  13. Originally posted by JoshuaPhelps:

    I joined for the sake of it. New, fresh, etc. I like.

    Much the same here. The founding principles and design seem quite good.I made a few contacts there and sent out some test messages. You can see if that came in whenever you get back over there.

  14. Just joined it on http://diasp.orgStill don't know what to do with it. After using myOpera, facebook and google plus I think I like social networking the opld fashioned way. Too mush updates and too much things to do on social network makes me leave them.Lets see what this is all about.https://diasp.org/u/manidhillon

  15. Originally posted by ManiDhillon:

    Still don't know what to do with it.

    Yeah, me either. Sometimes it's rather interesting. Diaspora seems to draw the odd types. I like those.I just sent you a test message there.

  16. Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    I just sent you a test message there.

    Can't see anything from you. No new notification and no new message. Strange!!

  17. Originally posted by ManiDhillon:

    Can't see anything from you. No new notification and no new message. Strange!!

    Ahhhh, nobody above has gotten my sweet missives, and now I know why. I just read in the tutorials that people have to be mutual followers to send messages, and I never put my Diaspora identity on here. Search david@social.mathaba.net and there I'll be. 🙂

  18. Okay, my new "serious" user name on diaspora is ajax@diasp.org. Pretty sure I'll keep this one.I'd also like to note that there does not seem to be any "friend request" mechanism. That's nice. We can just add folks however we like.

  19. Originally posted by 0x29a:

    Okay, my new "serious" user name on diaspora is ajax@diasp.org.

    Yeah, as you could tell over there, it confused me a bit. I got it now.Originally posted by 0x29a:

    I'd also like to note that there does not seem to be any "friend request" mechanism. That's nice. We can just add folks however we like.

    I noticed that, too. It took a moment to get used to it. It seems to be basically a following mechanism. I didn't want some of my contacts over there thinking I had friendly feelings for them just because I want to follow what they say.I take the same approach on Opera. I view a friend request as a desire to follow activity, though I do actually have feelings for many on my friend list. This takes the "hmmm, do I or don't I" out of it. As long as it's not a spammer, troll, or hate monger, I'm good to go.

  20. I just changed Diaspora pods. I closed the old account and have a new one at: dave@jauspora.com

  21. Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    I just changed Diaspora pods. I closed the old account and have a new one at: dave@jauspora.com

    Excellent! my it be a move of fortuitous grace.Nice new avatar, too. 🙂

  22. The pod is in Spain. I get a little more Spanish practice that way.There's a little Carmen Miranda in all of us.

  23. Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    There's a little Carmen Miranda in all of us.

    LOL! Well spoken. Good morning.

Leave a Reply

