shopping center walk from cheap hotel

In my previous post I groused about being in a hotel on the wrong side of a highway and having to fire up a truck just to go a short distance across the road to shop at Target. I, indeed, did go to Target in the truck. Coming back I discovered that my hotel was not so alone as I thought. I towering Hilton was blocking my view of a nearly mile-long shopping center. I love walking in generic soulless shopping centers. This one filled the bill nicely.

Image #1: Chef Boyardee spotted in Target. I used to love making this brand of boxed pizzas when I was a kid. They came in a little kit and were fun to make. The name used to be "Chef Boy-Ar-Dee" with the dashes. Lately the commercials on TV have been featuring retro film clips of the real (now deceased) man who founded the brand, Ettore Boiardi. For some reason I was always in awe of the man when I was little. He seemed fun and made those good pizzas!

Image #2: typical sight in a soulless shopping center anywhere in America.

Image #3: I still maintain that this shopping center was soulless! I saw several pictures of Jesus on the wall.

Image #4: inexpensive Asian buffets are always busy. You can gorge for just a few dollars. Sometimes some of the entrees remind me of cat food. Same for Subway's subs. I swear it's Little Friskies.

Image #5: workin' it off at the forlorn soulless shopping center.

4 responses to “shopping center walk from cheap hotel

  1. Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    Sometimes some of the entrees remind me of cat food.

    Someone on a bike touring email list once told me that if one finds themselves in Southeast Asia and there is something on the menu called beef, demand to see its hooves.

  2. Image #3: I still maintain that this shopping center was soulless! I saw several pictures of Jesus on the wall.What did you do? Blink several times? :headbang:

  3. image #1: chef boyardee of any description belongs in a can only a can and nothing but a can :furious:

  4. Looked like a great little shopping centre – except for the Toys "R" Us :doh:

Leave a Reply

