going postal with latin music legends

When I have time, I like to go to the main counter of the downtown post office to get stamps rather then using a machine. I like picking out something special. Otherwise you have to take the more plain ones that are the default from the vending machine. I know a couple of the post office counter guys anyway, and we have a fun moment or two.

I asked the guy if there were any movie star stamps. He said that all he had at the moment were sheets of Ronald Reagan. I said, "yuck", he said, "I know that's right!" Then he whipped these out. Nice!

Carmen Miranda is my fave.

14 responses to “going postal with latin music legends

  1. Is Carmen Miranda your current My Opera avatar?

  2. Originally posted by AleksOD:

    Is Carmen Miranda your current My Opera avatar?

    Why yes she is! I'd forgotten I'd changed it to her recently.

  3. Speaking of all things Brazilian, I just LOVE bossa nova! :sing:And spoken Brazilian is the most beautiful language in the world even though I don't speak a lick of it!

  4. Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    It wasn't as rough as travelling in a Cyrillic country where I once had to compare shapes of letters on street signs to those on a map.

    Kind of like me and Chinese/Japanese :p Yeah, a big mistake thinking Cyrillic letters = Latin letters. "Backward" R is not the same as actual R! :lol:Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    Of course you've got that knocked!

    :yes:

  5. Originally posted by AleksOD:

    And spoken Brazilian is the most beautiful language in the world even though I don't speak a lick of it!

    I hear ya. I went to Brazil years ago and thought my Spanish word help a lot. Not really. Comprehension was down to about 20%. It got back to picking out root words. It wasn't as rough as travelling in a Cyrillic country where I once had to compare shapes of letters on street signs to those on a map. Of course you've got that knocked!

  6. I used to get lots of postcards from Radio Moscow when I was a teenager. Image of one that I own.A QSL card from someone on flickr.Anyway, "Pадио Mockba" was always written on them. I pronounced it as "paano mockba", knowing it was wrong, but it was easier to remember.I did their Russian-by-Radio course (via shortwave band) for a little while one time. They mailed a workbook, you listened to the class by radio according to the enclosed schedule, then mailed homework to Moscow. It would come back graded! LOL.It was Cold War era, and my parents asked me one time why I was getting tons of mail from the USSR. I said it was language lessons, which made them look relieved. They never butted into my business anyway. What a hoot! 😆

  7. Oh, and Радио Москва sounds something like "Rahdioh Mohsvkah". 😆

  8. Wow, those postcards can be sold for some nice price these days ;)It is nice to see that even during cold war one could find a way to reach out to common folk on the other side (and, perhaps, instill some propaganda along the way). ;)The amount of attention you got with graded homework across the Atlantic is pretty amazing, especially during Cold War! I feel a tinge of jealousy. 😛 I am glad things like free online video lectures from MIT and others are continuing the tradition.

  9. operainchicago

    I love those stamps!

  10. Carmen Miranda is my fave.

    I never would have guessed…

  11. Originally posted by Deke:

    Carmen Miranda is my fave.

    I never would have guessed…

    Yes, I didn't see that one coming either 😆 Good choice in Carmen Miranda. And I dig the stamps.

  12. They make good shoes too. Have you ever heard of the banana boot song?

  13. Fruit makes such good headgear. 🙂

  14. I dig the hat.Not Carmen's. Dave's.:D

Leave a Reply

