cadil-lac-ac-ac-ac

I had some light business with Cadillac this week unrelated to buying or servicing one. I was asked while there if I thought I might be interested in one. Nah. They're not pretty to me anymore…too fierce and aggressive looking, and I'm too proletarian to part with $70k. I like the older soft-styled country club looking ones better, like the Fleetwood. Of course if somebody *GAVE* me one, I'd certainly take it.

13 responses to “cadil-lac-ac-ac-ac

  1. I think I can manage my own floor mats, exhaust tips, and license plate bracket. Also, last I checked, it's never gotten cold enough in Olympia to need a block heater.Once that gets resolved, I can buy four! Four tanks of gas, that is…

  2. I, too, would be able to pay for four tanks of fuel if someone will give me a cadillac 😉

  3. Originally posted by 0x29a:

    I can buy four! Four tanks of gas, that is…

    That reminds me of TV shows where you watch people loaded with money shop for houses (House Hunters):"This house is only 600,000 dollars and the HOA (homeowners association) dues are $550 a month."The HOA is $550! That's most of my mortgage.

  4. 13 – 18 MPG for a freaking car?! I prefer a Toyota.

  5. Originally posted by JoshuaPhelps:

    13 – 18 MPG for a freaking car?!

    The 18 MPG on flat highway. I suspect the 22 is coasting downhill with a tailwind, of course.

  6. I imagine the Cadillac SUV's are quite thirsty in town. Most of them I see are leadfooted down residential side streets at nearly 50 mph.Another of my astute observations: most SUV's are nearly riding rims-on-the-ground due to severely underinflated tires. Those tires are usually $200 to $300 each!

  7. No idea what a block heater is. I presume it's something that you need on a car if it's to be of use during a North American winter. Here in the UK, snow is usually just a brief nuisance, not really a full-on affair.

  8. Originally posted by SharkfinUK:

    Here in the UK, snow is usually just a brief nuisance, not really a full-on affair.

    It should be, but the UK still grinds to a halt 🙄

  9. I have a 6.5L diesel motor that gets at least 30 mpg. Chevy Suburban. 🙂

  10. Originally posted by SharkfinUK:

    No idea what a block heater is. I presume it's something that you need on a car if it's to be of use during a North American winter. Here in the UK, snow is usually just a brief nuisance, not really a full-on affair.

    A block heater is plugged into a wall outlet, and the other end is a long, skinny piece that goes into the oil dipstick tube. you have to be careful with them, so they don't catch fire. Winter and snow are very annoying, especially herein North Carolina.

  11. I like a truck diesel. :up:

  12. My 1.2 litre engine still knocks out 45mpg 10 years on. Who needs 6 litres in a standard road car? Sheesh! :p

  13. My parents had a '72 Cadillac El Dorado with an 8.2 liter (500 cubic inch) in it. That coupled with front-wheel drive meant rocket launch, and it swilled fuel like a Saturn V (NASA). Those 70's cars, you could take off the air filter to look down into the carburetor, and it would look like a waterfall of fuel in there while running.It was a sinfully large engine that put out so much force that it blew a hole in the exhaust manifold one time.After gas prices doubled a few years later, they sold that fine car for a few hundred and got a Honda.My mom stayed mad at my dad for years over that Cadillac. She always felt that new cars, especially one like that, were an extravagant and reckless purchase.

Leave a Reply

