cold rainy brunch

A hard cold rain in the afternoon made us hungry, so we went to a pub. Along with the good food, we each had a tall yummy drink.

These are called a Blue Velvet. It's the type drink you could drink until the glass fell out of your hand onto the floor.

Blue Velvet = 1/2 Crispin hard cider + 1/2 Blue Moon.

I wonder if that half a moon is waxing or waning?

9 responses to “cold rainy brunch

  1. :beer: :yes:

  2. :cheers: :up:

  3. I'd love to join you for a glass.

  4. Bit late here, sorry about that – but I note that the above menu shows one of my very favourite UK beers – Old Speckled Hen…and I recall that back in UK, the mix of (any) Lager and Cider (known colloquially as a 'Snakebite') was banned in many pubs, probably because a) the people usually drinking it only had in mind getting totally smashed as quickly & cheaply as possible, and b) the unpleasantness to be cleaned up afterwards. I like it though :up:ESB (I presume Fullers? and if so…) is from my home town Brewery – Chiswick, a suburb in west London – and both Fullers 'Chiswick Bitter' (another favorite) and '1845' (bottled), are highly recommended should you see them. All good just by themselves. ESB might not be a good idea at lunchtime, although if you're happy tackling the occasional snakebite with your elevenses, you're probably used to something with a bit of psychoactive punch going on ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Originally posted by FlaRin:

    I recall that back in UK, the mix of (any) Lager and Cider (known colloquially as a 'Snakebite') was banned in many pubs

    Nice comment. I love the info.I need to try Old Speckeled Hen and ESB.

  6. Originally posted by FlaRin:

    I recall that back in UK, the mix of (any) Lager and Cider (known colloquially as a 'Snakebite') was banned in many pubs

    I used to like snakebite when I was a student. I used to wear a biker jacket at the time which I had to take off before getting served in one pub. I remember in another pub I could not order a snakebite for the reasons mentioned, but I was able to order half a pint of cider and half a pint of lager with one of them in a pint glass. :beer:

  7. Originally posted by H t M:

    …order half a pint of cider and half a pint of lager…

    Yeah, that's what I used to do ๐Ÿ™‚ It's actually a nice tasting drink…it does tend to work as advertised, too :up:Dave – E(xtra)S(pecial)B(itter) is a bit on the strong side and is probably an acquired taste – and Old Speckled Hen is a real sharp, yeasty bitter, also an acquired taste – good luck. The latter is, according to legend, named after an early model of MG sports car :)I've drunk a lot of London beers in my time – and they seem to be characterized by the yeast of choice that the various breweries use. Fullers beers are all pretty distinctive and, once you've got the taste, recognizable. Young's is another west London Brewery – in Wandsworth – and I dislike all of their beers, because the yeast doesn't agree with my palate – leaves an unpleasant sour taste. Weird how these things work. I'm a Fullers fan, for sure.I met an old dude in a pub once, years ago, who told me that the brewery now called Fullers was once 'Fuller, Smith and Turners'. Known as 'Full of Shit & Turnips' to those who weren't fans ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Originally posted by FlaRin:

    Known as 'Full of Shit & Turnips' to those who weren't fans

    I like terms of endearment like that.It reminds me of the popular name for the fortified wine MD 20/20.MD 20/20 is an American fortified wine with an alcohol content of 13%. The name is derived from the initials of its producer, Mogen David, but the drink is widely and affectionately known as "Mad Dog".

  9. I know mad dog – that and 'night train' (?) were quite popular as quick and cheap portals to insobriety in late 80s happening London.Happy days ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

