southern accent voice transcription

I love voice transcription on the Android. Just speak and it becomes text.

Sometimes Google has trouble with my southern accent. Below, I was telling Brian that I was at the parking lot at RDU airport.

"our DU" actually means "RDU". You can see what I do to Google. 😀

Often I see things like that and think, WTF. Then I realize, oh yeah, the way I say it does sound like that.

13 responses to “southern accent voice transcription

  1. never works for me. I thinks it's due to my high pitched voice.

  2. Google never understands me……… I gave up…..

  3. For some reason I've never "pictured" you as having a southern accent.As an aside, can you explain to a Brit where southern and hick/redneck accents diverge?Thinking now, though, if you asked me to explain local accent differences over here, I wouldn't know where to start without verbally giving examples. So ignore me.

  4. Originally posted by JoshuaPhelps:

    I thinks it's due to my high pitched voice.

    A high talker! (Seinfeld reference). I like that. :heart: Originally posted by JTazzie:

    Google never understands me

    Sometimes I have to say it over and over, each time coming out more goofy. I like *not* using the keyboard.Originally posted by SharkfinUK:

    can you explain to a Brit where southern and hick/redneck accents diverge?

    I often work nationally and frequently battle with people thinking I'm a dope just from sound. *sigh*

  5. On the typing I hate texting with a purple passion but there are days when having to listen to people talk would throw me over the edge…… Then there are those people who if I can say it in text great if not then they don't need to hear what I have to say……But mostly I would rather use my pc and email or talk on the phone…… That little keyboard on my Android is shitty!!! :headbang:

  6. My ip is préhistoric, now !! :jester:

  7. I'm using voice to text more now and love it. Pat upgraded to Samsung galaxy S3 on Wednesday and OMG! If you are across the room, voice to text works 99% accuracy :p

  8. Wahl, fust, lemmee say that ah've livt on bofh sides of th' Mason-Dixon Lahne, an' Ah deerly luv a Georgian accent in partic'lar. 'Specially comin' from a womans mouth.:heart: Jes' sayin'…

  9. Originally posted by operainchicago:

    I'm using voice to text more now and love it. Pat upgraded to Samsung galaxy S3 on Wednesday and OMG! If you are across the room, voice to text works 99% accuracy :p

    I don't know to be precise :up:

  10. Originally posted by JTazzie:

    On the typing I hate texting with a purple passion but there are days when having to listen to people talk would throw me over the edge…… Then there are those people who if I can say it in text great if not then they don't need to hear what I have to say……

    There's something nice about texting when I want, or need, to communicate but don't want to open my mouth.I got an Amateur Radio (Ham Radio) license when I was 15. I loved the Morse code. I could communicate night and day with people all over the world and never vocally say a word. I became a (Morse) code wizard. In some ways, texting reminds me of that. I upgraded my radio license over and over, but I rarely left the Morse code bands even when more advanced modes became available to me.

  11. Originally posted by JTazzie:

    That little keyboard on my Android is shitty!!!

    I don't know if you've ever tried the Swype keyboard. I like mine a lot. It might already be installed. If not, there are a couple of hoops to jump to get it on there. There is a learning curve, but it improved my texting a lot.I like zipping one finger back and forth on the screen and seeing the words pop up.http://www.swype.com/

  12. I learn the morse in Army and today, i'am remember in big party, but i not know to speak in morse !!

  13. Somehow, the more I talk to my talk to text the better it understands me.

Leave a Reply

