laurel and hardy still on the tv after all these years

79 years later, and their movie, Them Thar Hills, was on broadcast TV today. That's quite a legacy.

I enjoy the funny scripting and the clarion voice of Oliver Hardy.

Have you ever heard them in Spanish? They made several movies in Spanish, painstakingly learning the entire script phonetically. The results were superb.

Here they are on my TV looking fine:

7 responses to “laurel and hardy still on the tv after all these years

  1. Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    Have you ever heard them in Spanish? They made several movies in Spanish, painstakingly learning the entire script phonetically. The results were superb.

    Wow! I had no idea. That's an extraordinarily impressive, and seemingly anti-xenophobic feat, given the era. This gives me a whole new respect for them.

  2. Here's the youtube link to an entire Spanish short (55 minutes) of Chickens Come Home:

    So awesome. 🙂

  3. Wow! Good one. I wish I had time to watch all of it tonight, but next weekend will work better. I love things of this nature.Another good English / Spanish thing was the 1931 film Dracula.Same set for both languages but different cast. They'd film all day in English and all night in Spanish. I used to have both on VHS but now have no working VCR. 😦

  4. Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    I love things of this nature.

    Yeah, I've been puttering about the flat saying, "Hey, tu esposa!" And then giggling incessantly.Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    Another good English / Spanish thing was the 1931 film Dracula.

    That would be worth making some popcorn for.:up:

  5. Originally posted by 0x29a:

    That would be worth making some popcorn for.

    I do that sometimes just to add some formality to watching a movie. If I'm really into it, I'll make the popcorn the old-fashioned way in a skillet, drizzle butter over it, etc.For total movie enjoyment, I *have* to have Dr Pepper with the popcorn. The Blue Sky version, called Dr. Becker, is a great replacement. Blue Sky New Century Cola is also good fuel for a movie. Both are like going back to being a kid and seeing a Saturday matinee at the Carolina Theater while my parents went shopping downtown.The Carolina still has the vestigal "colored entrance" on the side down the alley. Fortunately that practice ended before I started seeing movies there, but my father told me many stories about it. It's an amazing piece of history to reflect upon to this day. A lot of people, myself included, will still walk down that side of the theater to have a look at that old entrance.https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carolina_Theatre_of_GreensboroGreensboro also has the famous Woolworth. My grandmother liked to take me shopping there.https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greensboro_sit-ins

  6. My late father always told me that he hated them when he was a kid but loved them when he grew up. I always enjoyed their movies. I remember a great one where they have married each other's sisters and have a meal together with each of them dressed up as the other's wife. 😆

  7. Originally posted by harrytheman:

    My late father always told me that he hated them when he was a kid but loved them when he grew up.

    Good observation. I liked them as a child and love them now. others:Chaplin: sometimes strikes me as great, sometimes tedious. I enjoy his "talkies" the most.Keystone Cops: can hardly stand a minute of it except to look at the scenery.Originally posted by harrytheman:

    they have married each other's sisters and have a meal together with each of them dressed up as the other's wife.

    I need to look for that one!

Leave a Reply

