mimosa

I always like to photograph our Sunday lunch cocktails. This one is a Mimosa = champagne + orange juice.

It didn't appeal to me much, but I can see why it is a Sunday brunch favorite with people who go out on Saturday nights. A Mimosa is lightly sweet, lightly fizzy, and packs enough punch to take the edge off from the night before. I didn't have an edge on this time, so that part didn't matter.

I got the Mimosa at a place downtown called The Mellow Mushroom. It's a chain based in Atlanta whose funky decor seems to be based on a psychedelic 'shroom trip.

Brian is visible on the other side of the Mimosa.

14 responses to “mimosa

  1. Aw, Brian… Still sportin' the 'do (long hair). :up:

  2. One way to get me to drink is by putting an orange flavoured drink or a cranberry flavoured drink in my alcohol. And coke. :up:

  3. Originally posted by JoshuaPhelps:

    I sense there's a bigger back-story than having just a great summer. Details, Dave, details.

    Doncha know, lol. πŸ˜€ He was country, hot, and could do calculus!

  4. Originally posted by frogier:

    Champagne + orange juice I not drink this shake !! Otherwise i'am disease !!

    It's so hot here in the summer. You might need to try it.There is also the "mint julep" which most people in the South drink because it's expected of them.https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mint_julepThere is also "Southern Comfort", but you are required to listen to Janis Joplin while drinking it.https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Southern_comforthttps://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Janis_joplin

  5. Champagne + orange juice :eyes: I not drink this shake !! πŸ˜† Otherwise i'am disease !!

  6. Originally posted by 0x29a:

    Aw, Brian… Still sportin' the 'do (long hair).

    I still can't believe there's hair up thar. He shaved his head for so many years.Originally posted by JoshuaPhelps:

    One way to get me to drink is by putting an orange flavoured drink or a cranberry flavoured drink in my alcohol. And coke.

    I used to be a cocktail snob. At most I wanted one mixer one spirit, and not sweet. That's changed. Now I like sweet foofy cocktails, preferably that are a pretty color, like blue or green.Tanqueray and tonic is still a fave since I was in my 20's. Also, I really like Cuervo Gold tequila. There are much finer tequilas than Cuervo, but it's the one I like.I was in summer school one time around 1980. I walked into my dorm room for the first time that summer and plopped a bottle of Cuervo on the desk. My new roommate was sitting there and I said, "is this (the tequila) going to be a problem?" He said, "your only problem will be keeping me out of it." We had a great summer.

  7. Mhmm, the mint julep ?! I speak do not bad; i hope try to next during a next party :yes: I pain digest the champagne but i'am ok for the next drinks !! Health !! :cheers:

  8. Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    Now I like sweet foofy cocktails, preferably that are a pretty color, like blue or green.

    Yep, the pretty colours are what get me. ;)Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    Tanqueray and tonic is still a fave since I was in my 20's. Also, I really like Cuervo Gold tequila. There are much finer tequilas than Cuervo, but it's the one I like.

    I tried acquiring a taste for tequila. It's okay, just something I wouldn't entirely drink from the bottle unless the drink is in shot form.Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    We had a great summer.

    I sense there's a bigger back-story than having just a great summer. Details, Dave, details. πŸ˜€

  9. Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    He was country, hot, and could do calculus!

    I gotta find me one of those when I start college. I absolutely suck at math. Not at the other things (I cannot mention), but you get what I'm sayin'. πŸ˜†

  10. One nighters + alcohol = the cure to anything. πŸ˜†

  11. Originally posted by JoshuaPhelps:

    I absolutely suck at math

    Tequila helped me get the calculus down that summer. It helped greatly with the Spanish later on.One night of tequila with a buddy and you'll totally get a grasp of direct and indirect objects in a foreign language. "You want to put what in where?" One night better than 3 weeks of book learnin'. πŸ˜€

  12. Originally posted by JoshuaPhelps:

    One nighters + alcohol = the cure to anything

    10 good friends with benefits ≥ a lover anytime

  13. Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    There is also "Southern Comfort", but you are required to listen to Janis Joplin while drinking it.

    In my teen years I drank loads of Southern Comfort and also listened to a bit of Janis Joplin…but somehow, never at the same time. :headbang:

  14. I do like mimosas at Sunday brunch when I go. I believe you are getting a good dose of vitamin C. Did someone mention Southern Comfort? I vaguely remember asking Halina for SC on the rocks. This was maybe 35 years ago and an after work party. Halina was one of my friends…a blond…from Poland. She and I and Cheryl, Bob, Bruno and…….ok the memory stops there. Anyway, she brought me back a water glass full of SC with a few ice cubes. I didn't drink anything else that night. That was one of three times in my life that I felt I was drunk.

Leave a Reply

