dear dear david

Oh my, yes. Still love the Bowie.

Sometimes he's just what the doctor ordered.

Bowie messed with my head when I was a young'un. So did The Kinks.

4 responses to “dear dear david

  1. yeah I love the Bowie too, the very first record I ever got was Ziggy Stardust

  2. Originally posted by slackwrdave:

    Bowie messed with my head when I was a young'un.

    I was 16 (1981-82ish) the first time I really sat and listened to Ziggy Stardust. It immediately became — as had the soundtrack to The Rocky Horror Picture Show a couple years earlier — an instant transformational experience for me.When I first heard Alladin Sane, it was too musically dense for me to fully appreciate.(Posted using Firefox ver 22.0)

  3. Originally posted by 0x29a:

    (Posted using Firefox ver 22.0)

    I got ver 24.0a2. :p Originally posted by 0x29a:

    an instant transformational experience for me.

    When I was a young'un, I was walking around with "that secret." It would be years before I really became aware of WTF was going on. I viewed Bowie as a window into a world where some of "those things" were not so fixed and sure. I was more or less a child when I'd see Bowie wearing wild shit on the TV. He totally had my attention.Another mindfuck was when one summer afternoon "Lola" (The Kinks) came on the radio, and my older brother said, "let's listen to the lyrics together." When it was over, he asked, "so what do you think it means?" I mumbled, "I don't know" as I stumbled out of the room almost slamming into the wall as I did. My brother had caught a very early vibe off of me and was trying to tell me something about it that I couldn't handle at the time.I actually look back on that confused time of my life fondly now.

  4. I, too, liked Bowie and the Davies brothers. :up:

Leave a Reply

