mozilla aurora update obsession

I love Mozilla products. I have to have the latest releases, Firefox Aurora and Thunderbird Earlybird e-mail. If it has been on the server for more than 48 hours, it's too old for me. I like my Mozilla very fresh.

Imagine my horror when I realized tonight that the repositories I use for Aurora and Earlybird were HORRIBLY out of date by over a month! It just got by me. The shame is immense.

I think the package maintainer must have quit and nobody said a damned thing about it.

So now for my Debians, Lubuntus, and Xubuntus, I just have to download the .bz2 files directly from Mozilla and load them from a directory while I wait to see if the repository comes alive again.

The bad thing about downloading directly from Mozilla, aside from the butt pain, is that Mozilla tries to autodetect every time and send me an i686 file instead of the x86_64 that I need. I just want Mozilla freshness without suffering. IS THAT TOO MUCH TO ASK? :yikes:

32 responses to “mozilla aurora update obsession

  1. I would like to have Debian, Lubuntu and Xubutu working, even not fresh, without suffering. And it is too much to ask apparently. The 'buntus" 13.10 don't work on my laptop, while the previous worked. Debian requires to backport the kernel to work. Meh.

  2. It can be weird.My netbook works out of the box with lubuntu though the free wifi driver doesn't illuminate the wifi LED on the front of the device yet the radio still works. Not an issue, just strange.Debian works on the netbook but I have to install some things before it finds the wifi radio.After the tweaks, it's dreamy.The home machines aren't an issue. They are custom built with easy hardware.

  3. Sometimes Linux Mint doesn't detect that there are updates to be had. To be sure, I force it to check every day or so. Always worked before I had to upgrade Linux Mint version.

  4. I don't get the whole Linux thing. It looks like something that is designed to fail on purpose.

  5. Yeah right, Windows has failed. I don't get this either. There are two things that don't work with Windows. One is the fact that you must buy a license and the other is that they have quit with the desktop. For anything else it is obviously much easier to run Windows than Ubuntu. In fact when the Ubuntu upgrade killed my system I had to revert to Windows XP to use it. The crazy thing about it is that there isn't ANY way to know what hardware is supported, how and when. One moment it works, a moment later it doesn't. Who introduced the regression? Debian? Ubuntu? Or was it already present upstream? Who is going to fix it? Will anytbody fix it? No way to know it. You can only try with another distro. Which could work until next update or upgrade.

  6. Windows has failed? Sounds a little dramatic, but…hey! 😆 Only messing. No-one's going to tell you to leave Windows if it does what you need it to do. It just causes me so many problems, especially at work.

  7. Originally posted by LorenzoCelsi:

    I don't get the whole Linux thing. It looks like something that is designed to fail on purpose.

    Hmm! Sounds like Windows. :sherlock:

  8. I guess there isn't any software that is problem-proof. But I would expect some sort of "consolidation", at least when it comes to "core" parts like kernel and X. But NO, they must introduce new features upstream, then each distro must apply patches on top and fork their own stuff so at any given moment bugs and regressions are introduced and nobody knows where. You can be safe only staying away from updates and upgrades. Which is not always possible, for several reasons, from dependencies to new hardware needed. To not mention the whole KDE – Gnome – Wayland – Mir – whatelse recurring "lets reinvent the wheel" apocalypse.

  9. It is like to say all I have to do for any problem on this world is to look away. I have some bad news for you. While I am looking away things move on. In our case, while geniuses are at work breaking stuff and putting it together for the millionth time, the giants in the IT industry are changing the landscape both for hardware and software. In few years PC will be gone, history, to be replaced by "terminals" connected to "services". And we won't worry of what to install anymore, since everything will be sealed and hardcoded or remote.

  10. Apocalypse does sound a bit dramatic. My only problem with my current Linux install is having to manually update my operating system rather than have it work automatically. Hardly an issue when I have to constantly reboot my Windows machine at work.I am sorry that the Linux distros have upset you so much. Chill man, just don't install them on your PC.

  11. No, nothing that you wrote is bad new for me. Things move on like they always have done throughout history.At this time I am happy with what I have. And in the future I'll get the best that I am able to do then. I've got plenty to worry about in my life and in the World in general that are more pressing than my distro.

  12. I'm starting to see where Debian stable would have a place for the home user. It always bored me due to the lack of anything but the most routine of updates.I like a little drama, so I always ran Sid. The 'buntus are tamer than Sid.I've not had much trouble with things breaking, I guess because my hardware is as common as grass.On my underpowered netbook, I can get a decent boot of Xubuntu in about 20 seconds. The Win7 it came with seems to be about 3 minutes on the boot, constantly fooling me that it's done by the reappearance of the spinner. Once it gets running, it's OK, but I don't use it much.

  13. You have been severely wronged. I'd get a lawyer. 😥

  14. My hardware is common as well and IT WORKED till the latest Ubuntu version. Now I have got wrong color dept and no wireless connection. Without any explanation out of something wrong with the kernel. Bug classified as "medium" severity, nobody assigned.

  15. Well, the usual mantra in the Open Source world is: "you don't like it? Code something yourself".My point is that you cannot provide a "consumer" product and then handle issues with the "go coding yourself" philosophy.That is why I don't understand the whole distro thing.

  16. Yeah, I don't like the "code it yourself write a patch" thing either.That's one of the reasons I have never looked for help on that hell called IRC.I either fix it myself with hellacious searching, use something else, or eventually decide to retire the hardware.In 16 years of using this stuff, my crippling issues have been very few, and in the last 5 or 6, almost none. It has almost been surreal. I might be lucky or better than I think I am with it. I do like troubleshooting things. Even my employer sends me out to fix the botched accounts.

  17. I don't have the option of choosing proper hardware, I mostly recycle it. If I could afford to buy new things it would be a totally different story.I agree that you can fix issues. There are two ways, either you follow instructions after the said "hellacious" searching, which usually means to download and compile sources or you "hop" on a different distro that is more compatible with your system, that means either going upstream to work around bad patches from the distro you were using, like going back to Debian from Ubuntu or go sideways with a distro that is not based on the same "base", like moving from Ubuntu to Fedora or Opensuse.Read the beginning of this article:http://www.elemans-online.nl/slackware/slackware-14-1-review/It is not that it doesn't work, it is that it leaves you in the "uncertain", you never know what the next update or upgrade will bring. I understand that for people who want to be always "bleeding edge" but I don't get it for people like me who just want something that works and can substitute Windows on aging machines. Is it more important to push new features every 6 months or is it more important to be consistent and dependable, making sure that stuff that works keeps working across all releases? I don't get the "maybe works, maybe not" either the "partially supported". Is it better to have 5 different drivers for the same graphic card, each supporting different exotic features but you don't know when it kills the system or to have just one driver that maybe doesn't support the exotic features for advanced gaming but it works flawlessy on every system? Is it better to support most of the features of the latest graphic cards or to get solid functioning with all (or most) of the existing graphic cards?

  18. I get what you're saying now, Lorenzo. It would be great to just be able to install something on old hardware and it just works without any issues.I have an old PC that I acquired as a backup to my budget laptop. I ended up installing four different distros before I found one that just worked. I did have Crunchbang recommended on MyOpera which I didn't end up trying. Crunchbang is Slackware based and I was going through the Ubuntu based ones as I've only ever tried installing those ones before. Maybe I'm just too interested in an easy life and should have ventured out with Crunchbang. It might have worked first time. Still, it's all working now, anyway. :coffee:

  19. See, Crunchbang is NOT based on Slackware but on Debian. It is Debian with Openbox and some additional applications.I understand the fact that I have to try some distro before finding one that works. It is price I have to pay. What I DO NOT understand is to have to repeat the process every time the distro gets updated or upgraded. The possibility that a distro that worked till yesterday stops working today because some genius patched the kernel without considering consequences and without proper testing is nonsense. Also because you don't get to know what was patched and why, the distro looks exactly the same but something major gets broken. Not a good deal.

  20. I'd say that you've more than gotten your money's worth out of that laptop by whining about it here (and probably a dozen other places). I don't think that going into a rant here is going to fix it nor solve any of Linux' numerous problems.OMG, Lorenzo, I indirectly used the "L" word in the OP which pushes a primal button in you. I was posting about how much I enjoy Mozilla. I had a Radeon video card years ago that was a royal PITA, yet I didn't go around the net being a major downer to people at random.

  21. Yes, you were complaining because you have to manually copy Firefox nightlies on your Linux box instead of having it properly packaged by a maintainer. That makes much more sense, sorry.

  22. Originally posted by LorenzoCelsi:

    That makes much more sense, sorry.

    I'm one of those irrational Earthlings sometimes ruled by one of their major flaws: emotion. :jester:

  23. Anyway, the Aurora wasn't distro maintained. I hadn't looked at my repositories in ages, and that one dropped off. I don't know why I was using it anyway, except for convenience. Direct from Mozilla is what I should have done from the start. Once started, it does autoupdate, just not through the package manager.*buntu and Debian provide Firefox/Thunderbird stable. Betas, Auroras, nightlies are from wherever you want to get them from.

  24. OMG, direct auto-updates are baaack. This is how I should have arranged it before.

  25. Updating browser + e-mail is now so sweet and fast. Almost luxurious. :love:

  26. Sweet serenity of Mozilla.

  27. Sublime.

  28. Must put in my two cents…
    I have just revived a 12 year old desktop with PCLinuxOS and XFCE. It is not perfect but works far better than I ever expected.
    As both a user and proponent of ‘Old Tech’ I now seem to have to rely on Linux to to keep these machines running. As someone above mentions, I can’t afford to keep up either. On my wee pension, new computing devices are the last things on my shopping list. They are usually procured when someone I know is upgrading and junking their old box.
    Also someone mentioned “Terminals”…
    used to work on one of those. Unix connected to a VAX via 300 baud modem. (The senior guy got the terminal with superfast 1200 baud modem!) They were made obsolete by the standalone PC??

  29. At the moment, I'm mainly using Chromium and Opera. I go through these phases. Firefox will be fighting back soon, no doubt. 😉

  30. Hi sprytely. It’s nice to see you. Good story and hope you enjoy the Xfce.

    Years ago I ran Slackware on a 120Mhz Pentium. I enjoyed keeping the old thing going.

    About 2005, I bought a hot new machine from a nearby computer store, ordering it with no operating system at all so I could go home and put the good stuff on it. I’ve been doing it that way now since 2005.

    Don’t mind Lorenzo too much. He stays angry about almost everything.

  31. I always like hearing what people like to use: distros, browsers, e-mail., etc.I got so pissed at Opera (the company) the other day that I uninstalled it from my Android. That's quite a change from years ago when I would select a device based on its compatibility with Opera.On mobile, I'll be ok with Firefox (Aurora) and Chrome. Opera was useful when I was roaming on data because of the off-road mode, but I will do without it now.I have a non-graphical feed reader for when I need to conserve every kB. If you take a data-enabled mobile into Mexico and let the megs fly, you'll be walking home. I keep the e-mail program set to "headers only" when there.

  32. I'll be de-Opera-browsered during the weekend.

Leave a Reply

